Key facts

The Republic of Kazakhstan is a large landlocked country in Northern and Central Eurasia. Its territory is over 2,7 million km2 and is bigger than that of entire Western Europe.

Kazakhstan is a country with an abundance of natural resources. These include about 1.8% of the world's proven total oil reserves. Around 62% of the country has been divided up by the Government into oil and gas exploration and production blocks. There are currently 172 oil fields, of which more than 80 are under development.

Kazakhstan borders with Russia, China, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan and has a coastline on the Caspian Sea. The population approximately 17.9 million (as of January 1, 2017).

  • Capital – Astana (population approximately 1.0 million).
  • Largest city – Almaty (population approximately 1.7 million).
  • One of the most diverse countries in the world in terms of ethnicity.
  • Urban/rural employment – approximately 53% and 47% respectively. 
  • GDP per capita – US$10,510 in 2015.
  • Oil and gas reserves – about 1.8% of the world’s total.
  • Ninth largest country in the world by area.
  • Home to five UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
  • Consistent economic growth and political stability since independence in 1991.
  • Founder member of the EAEU.
  • Over US$200 billion of foreign investment in the ten years to 2015.